Two Tigers named in VFL State squad

Werribee’s Michael Sodomaco and Matthew Hanson are again in the frame for representative honours after being selected to the VFL State Team squad for a second straight year.

Both members of the Big V side that took on the SANFL in Adelaide last year, the two have been named as part of a 42-man squad for the team that will face off against the WAFL on May 27.

Entering his third season as the Tigers’ skipper, Sodomaco has enjoyed a strong start to 2017, notching up consecutive best-on-ground performances against Footscray and Essendon through his trademark run off the backline.

Hanson has also begun the year in typically impressive fashion, relishing the opportunity to spend extra time up forward with two goals in each of his last two matches.

The two-time winner of the Bruce Montgomery Trophy as Werribee’s best and fairest is regarded as one of the VFL’s top midfielders and has been viewed as a potential AFL draft prospect.

Joe Maishman has also caught the eye of the state squad selectors, the Tiger midfielder named as one of 13 talented up-and-coming players who will have the opportunity to train with the squad to aid their development.

The squad announcement comes on the back of Werribee defence coach Ben Patrick being named for the same role in the VFL side.

The VFL State Team takes on the WAFL at North Port Oval on Saturday, May 27.

CLICK HERE to see the full squad.

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 006-western-truck-repairs
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web