Hanson third in Liston Trophy

Matthew Hanson has been acknowledged for his stellar season at the VFL’s Best and Fairest Night with third place in the JJ Liston Trophy count and selection to a third straight VFL Team of the Year.

The 22-year-old Werribee midfielder polled 14 votes from his 18 games at last night’s count at Crown Palladium to finish behind Richmond’s Jacob Townsend (18 votes) and Williamstown’s 2016 Liston Trophy winner Michael Gibbons (16 votes) and alongside another Seagull in Adam Marcon for his highest ever position in the final standings.

Hanson was the only player from a club outside the finals to finish in the top 10 for the count, highlighting his ability to influence games and win votes even when the Tigers failed to get over the line.

The result came after Hanson had earlier in the evening been named as centreman and Werribee’s sole representative in the VFL Team of the Year to go with his selections from 2015 and 2016, giving him a perfect record of Team of the Year honours from his three seasons at Avalon Airport Oval.

Other Werribee players to poll multiple votes in the JJ Liston Trophy count were Andrew Swallow (eight), Braydon Preuss (seven), and Dane McFarlane and Michael Sodomaco (three each).

The Werribee Football Club congratulates Matthew Hanson on yet another outstanding year.

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 006-western-truck-repairs
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web