A Great Night

It was a great night in every sense of the word. The Werribee Football Club announced its 50 Greats for 50 Years.

The night was the culmination of months of preparation. The committee headed by Darren Hellmann poured over statistics from the five decades of the clubs history. The criteria for selection was: minimum of 40 senior games with allowances for Best and Fairest winners, VFA/VFL Medallists (Liston, Field, Round- Fothergill, Norm Goss and Frosty Miller). AFL aligned players were considered if they continued their career at Werribee after being delisted, for example Ben Ross and Ben McKinley. Players selected in the Silver Anniversary Team were also eligible. After five months of meetings the following 50 were agreed upon (in alphabetical particular order as there is no numerical order)

David Allday, Simon Atkins, Joskun Aziz, Michael Barlow, James Bourke, Andrew Button, Robbie Castello, Trent Churchill, John Comben, Steven Douglas, Ian Dunstan, Jeremy Dyer, Anthony Eames, Scott Faulkner, Lynton Fitzpatrick, Michael Frost, Richard Geary, Dom Gleeson, Teghan Henderson, Merv Hughes, Kevin Leece, Frank Lesiputty, David Lyons, Michael Martin, Donald McDonald, Ben McKinley, Michael McMaster, David Mitchell, Steve Moloney, Jarred Moore, Dale Morris, Dallas Normington, Henry Ogilvie, Garry Parkes, James Podsiadly, James Puli, Richie Raeburn, Michael Redenbach, Travis Robertson, Ben Ross, Paul Satterley, Nathan Saunders, Stephen Sells, Robert Smith, Shaun Smith, Daryl Taylor, Adam Taylor, Ralph Turner, Nick Walsh, Jason Watts.

For a detailed profile on each player, visit our dedicated 50 Greats page:

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 006-western-truck-repairs
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web