Round 1 team: Geelong vs Werribee

Werribee has named eight debutants for its round-one Easter Sunday clash with Geelong and what will be its first VFL match as a standalone side in 19 years.

High-profile ex-AFL recruits Sam Collins, Nick Coughlan, and Andrew Hooper headline the first-gamers who will take to Torquay’s Spring Creek Reserve as part of the new-look side, while the remaining newcomers will be able to draw on a combined wealth of VFL experience.

Ruckman Jack Berry and midfielder Brenton Rees will both line up against their former side - as will returning Werribee midfielder Ben Moloney - and key forward Kyle Declase and second ruckman Nick Nott will play their first senior game in the “big W” after stints with the Northern Blues and North Ballarat respectively.

High-flying small defender and former Geelong Falcon Jack Henderson rounds out the debutants as 23rd man, while returning key forward Josh Porter will play his first VFL game since the final round of the 2016 season.

The match kicks off at 2pm. Entry is free for all Werribee members.

2018 Peter Jackson VFL
Round 1: Geelong vs Werribee
Sunday, April 1
2pm at Spring Creek Reserve, Torquay

 B  7. Dane McFarlane  15. Sam Collins  25. Nick Buykx
 HB   5. Nick Coughlan  23. Harry Boyd  10. Joe Maishman 
 C   33. Brenton Rees  11. Matthew Hanson   26. Ben Moloney
 HF   6. Jake Sharp  31. Kye Declase  9. Kurt Aylett 
 F  2. Matthew Munro  18. Josh Porter  14. Andrew Hooper
 R  36. Jack Berry  3. Michael Sodomaco  4. Tom Gribble
 Int  28. Matthew Brett  24. Jack Williams  1. Brydan Hodgson
   21. Louis Pinnuck  20. Jason Robinson  13. Jade Cleeland
   34. Nick Nott  30. Charlie Bance  
 23P  44. Jack Henderson    

Principal Sponsors

  • 003-barro-group
  • 008-west-suburban-taxis
  • Godings
  • Morris Finance
  • Skybus red for web
  • The Gordon